Home Arrows & Beacons Time Line Air Mail Routes Contributors/
Photo Credits
Contact Info

30 SL-GF Dalys / Canyon

Location / Airway

Location / Name

Beaverhead County, Montana
Commonly called Canyon Resort airway beacon
AKA Site No. 30 Dalys
30 SL-GF

gps: 45.070285, -112.810795

Contract Air Mail

CAM #26 Great Falls-Salt Lake City
Salt Lake-Great Falls airway
Pocotella-Great Falls section


Contract made 30th day of December 1927 to Alfred Frank
Sub-contract made 6th day of April 1928 between Alfred Frank and National Parks Airways (Inc.)
Air mail day service began on August 1, 1928
Air mail night service began on June 15, 1930 (Salt Lake-Pocatello section only)



Observations and Notes

The dirt road that goes up to the beacon site branches off to the left at the end of the gravel road shown in the panoramic picture.This dirt road is over two miles in length to the top. The bottom portion of the road was deeply rutted with loose rocks. In addition, it was muddy from a thunderstorm the night before. The road was basically impassable, even with our four-wheel drive vehicle. Therefore the only photos we could get of this site was by using a telephoto lens.

Contributors Photos

None yet, be the first to submit yours.


National Geodetic Survey Data Sheet OZ1010

Described by Coast and Geodetic Survey 1956 (WFD)
The station is located 10 miles south-southwest of Dillon, 1/4 mile west of U.S. Highway 91, and on the top of a high mountain looking down into the valley to the northeast. It is a conventional airway beacon 94 feet high and the point observed on was the center of the revolving light at the top.


Make a comment on our Facebook Page "Arrows Across America" about this arrow.

This site provides historical information only, do not use for navigation purposes. 
Arrows and Beacons may be on private property, DO NOT TRESSPASS!
ALL photos are copyrighted and may not be used without written permission other than for personal use.

Previous Beacon Site

State of Montana Site

Next Beacon Site

AlabamaArizonaArkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | IdahoIllinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas
Kentucky | Louisiana | MaineMaryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | NebraskaNevada 
  New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania
Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming