Home Arrows & Beacons Time Line Air Mail Routes Contributors/
Photo Credits
Contact Info

68 LA-A Continental Divide DOCILF

GPS: 35.426752, -108.303248

Location / Airway

Location / Name

NEW MEXICO:  McKinley County

68 LA-A Continental Divide DOCILF

GPS: 35.426752, -108.303248

Contract Air Mail

CAM #34 Los Angeles-New York
Los Angeles-Amarillo airway
Albuquerque-Amarillo section


Transcontinental & Western Air (TAT)

Drone Photos

Contributors Photos

Photos Courtesy of Nick Gerlick

Observations and Notes

The Continental Divide Arrow is located approximately 2 miles from I-40.  The first mile is along a paved road, while the last mile is on a well maintained dirt road.

 The arrow itself is located in an abandoned religious camp.

All that remains of the generator shed base is the outside concrete foundation.  The rest of the arrow is in fairly good condition with some cracking and portions of the edges broken off.  

The arrow is 63 feet in length.

The pilot would approach the tail of the arrow on a compass heading of 112° (E-SE), and then exit the arrow on a compass heading of 112° (E-SE).

(All measurements and compass headings are approximate).


Air Commerce Bulletin Vol. 1 No. 18, page 17, March 15, 1930
Site 68, on the Continental Divide, N. Mex., due to the fact that this section of the Los Angeles-Albuquerque airway is no longer used for regular scheduled night flights, this beacon has been discontinued and will remain unlighted. Should it again be operated, notice will be given.


Make a comment on our Facebook Page "Arrows Across America" about this arrow.

This site provides historical information only, do not use for navigation purposes. 
Arrows and Beacons may be on private property, DO NOT TRESSPASS!
ALL photos are copyrighted and may not be used without written permission other than for personal use.

Previous Beacon Site

State of New Mexico Site

Next Beacon Site

AlabamaArizonaArkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | IdahoIllinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas
Kentucky | Louisiana | MaineMaryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | NebraskaNevada 
  New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania
Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming